The Heartbeat triumphs in Division Schools Press Conference 2016

Article/News by: Mr. Sherwin C. De La Cruz
Date Posted: October 12, 2016

Heartbeat journalists bagged 13 wins and 17 special awards which translate to 5 trophies and 49 medals in this year’s Division Schools Press Conference (DSPC) with the theme “Strengthening Freedom of Information through Campus Journalism”, held at the Lucena West I Elementary School last August 29-30, September 11 and October 2.

Students from over 30 public and private schools (elementary and secondary levels) demonstrated their skills in writing and talents in broadcasting in this year’s DSPC. The top five contenders in each individual category and the first place in team categories qualify to the Regional Press Conference (RSPC).

The first place triumph of the Radio Broadcasting and Script Writing (English) Team sealed the bag of awards and medals brought home by the Crusade Radio. The team bannered by Nica Meriel Gabito (First Best Script), Emmanuel Jose Glinoga (First Best Infomercial), Matthew Jader (First Best in Technical Application), Jude Ivan Bernardino (First Best News Presenter), Patricia Mendiola, (Second Best News Presenter), Josh Bool (Second Best Anchor) and Romina Victoria Omana advances to the RSPC to be held on December 5-7 in Batangas City.

Forwarding to the regional competition also is the Desktop Collaborative Publishing (English) team that bagged first place. The team is composed of Maxinne Lopez (news writer), Judy Argosino (editorial writer), Gelo Unson (feature writer), Moses Oliva (sports writer), Zyress Madridano (cartoonist), Derrick Carpio (photojournalist) and Kimberly Axalan (layout artist).

Meanwhile, both the Radio Broadcasting and Desktop Collaborative Publishing (Filipino) teams landed in second place. The broadcasting team members are Francine Lauren Businos (Second Best Script), Gelo Unson (Second Best Infomercial & Second Best News Presenter), Kimberly Axalan (Second Best Technical Application), Sharlemane Tabernilla (Third Best Anchor), Ron Torres (Third Best News Presenter), Rea Revilla and Joaquin Bacasmot. On the other hand, Danielle Cantos, Trisha Esguerra, Jances Ella, Abigail Tapia, Kristelle Marie Sarnate, Mikel Sio and Janel Chavez comprised the collaborative publishing team.

Individual category contestants who also qualified for the RSPC are Richard Oliver Espina – 1st place Copy reading and Headline writing, Lucia Yllaine Ramirez – 1st place Pagwawasto at Pagaanyo ng Balita (Copy reading), Francis Leo Custodio – 1st place Sports writing, Abigail Tapia – 5th place Pagsulat ng Balitang Pampalakasan (Sports writing), Sophia Alba – 2nd place Feature writing, Audree Domingo – 5th place Pagsulat ng Lathalain (Feature writing), Ethel Mae Glodoviza – 2nd place Editorial writing, Nikki Adao – 3rd place Photojournalism and Kyna Amandy – 5th place Science and Health writing.

The Heartbeat was also hailed as the best performing secondary school publication in the city division of Lucena as well as the overall champion in DSPC for three consecutive times.

Mr. Sherwin C. De La Cruz coached the participants.

The DSPC is an annual competition pursuant to Republic Act 7079 or the Journalism Act of 1991. It aims to uphold the rights of campus journalists and ensures high standard campus journalism through school publication and friendly competition.

More News from SHC...

More News
Article/News by: Monica Noscal
Date Posted: December 7, 2017
Article/News by: Angelina T. Agayon
Date Posted: December 1, 2017
Date Posted: Nov. 28, 2017
Article/News by: Angelina Agayon, Kent Dexter Bonsol, Prudenz Yleizer Lorredo and Mark Rosales
Date Posted: Nov. 16, 2017
Article/News by: Angelina T. Agayon
Date Posted: Nov. 14, 2017
Article/News by: Monica Paola H. Noscal
Date Posted: October 23, 2017
Article/News by: Babe Aubrey B. Gabule, MICB and Jesselynne P. Lacerna
Date Posted: October 13, 2017
Article/News by: Babe Aubrey B. Gabule, MICB
Date Posted: October 11, 2017
Article/News by: Rea Landoy
Date Posted: October 10, 2017
Article/News by: Jezza Manuelle Zoleta, Sheena Mae Hicayo, Ma. Luz Florence Uy, Baljinder Dhillon and Alvin Borromeo Jr.
Date Posted: October 10, 2017
Article/News by: Denzel Avery G. Villaflores, Rosecarlisle Gildore Imperial, Rea Landoy, Frensy Ritz Barretto,Ericka H.Pascual, Sheena Mae Hicayo, Angie Agayon, Donna Tan,Prudenz Yleizer Lorredo andCedrick Sy
Date Posted: October 09, 2017
Article/News by: Cedrick P. Sy
Date Posted: October 4, 2017
Article/News by: Lemuel Harvey C. Reynoso
Date Posted: October 2, 2017
Article/News by: Jane Clarice Sardona, ABComm 3
Date Posted: September 23, 2017
Article/News by: Marian E. De Ramos (ABComm IV)
Date Posted: September 20, 2017
Article/News by: Avigail C. Daco
Date Posted: September 18, 2017
Article/News by: Diosa Rhose D. Madrid
Date Posted: September 15, 2017
Article/News by: Babe Aubrey B. Gabule, MICB
Date Posted: August 30, 2017
Article/News by: Liza May C. Anilao (CAS/ArtSoc)
Date Posted: August 24, 2017
Article/News by: Ckiana Oprah G. Calaycay
Date Posted: August 09, 2017
Article/News by: Eduard D. Mancilla
Date Posted: August 03, 2017
Article/News by: Babe Aubrey B. Gabule, MICB
Date Posted: August 02, 2017
Article/News by: Rolando B. Abrigo III and Meredith Minano Dango, RSW ( Program Implementor for SCA)
Date Posted: August 02, 2017
Article/News by: Clarisse Anne Sebuja and Eduard Mancilla
Date Posted: July 26, 2017
Article/News by: Cedrick Sy
Date Posted: July 24, 2017
Article/News by: Jezza Manuelle B. Zoleta & Alvin G. Borromeo Jr.
Date Posted: July 17, 2017
Article/News by: Babe Aubrey B. Gabule
Date Posted: July 13, 2017
Article/News by: Nicole Mangahas
Date Posted:June 8, 2017
Article/News by: Blodymer Dalde, JFINEX President
Date Posted:June 6, 2017
Article/News by: Frensy Ritz R. Barretto and Blodymer Dalde
Date Posted: April 11, 2017
Article/News by: Rossela Charisma G, Remo & Dr. Maria Zorayda A. Torres
Date Posted: March 18, 2017
Article/News by: Babe Aubrey B. Gabule
Photo by: Kerby M. Abad and Lawrence Y. Piguerra
Date Posted: March 17, 2017
Article/News by: Jezza Manuelle B. Zoleta and Joanne R. Obciana
Photo By: Jezza Manuelle B. Zoleta and Joanne R. Obciana
Date Posted: March 17, 2017
Article/News by: Sr. Nenita Divina F. Pateña, DC
Date Posted: March 14, 2017
Article/News by: Aracel D. Quevada
Date Posted: March 8, 2017
Article/News by: Joana Marie Ligaya, ABComm 2
Date Posted: February 21, 2017
Article/News by: Yvonne Hitty Mier
Date Posted: February 13, 2017
Article/News by: Carren Marie R. Nacorda
Date Posted: February 10, 2017
Article/News by: Arraleen V. Abellanosa
Date Posted: February 9, 2017
Article/News by: Rochelle M. Delos Santos, Haidee E. Gargantos, Diosa Rhose Madrid (Photos by: Haidee Gargantos)
Date Posted: February 8, 2017
Article/News by: Donnabelle T. Peñalosa
Date Posted: January 24, 2017
Article/News by: Agatha Brenica Ilagan
Date Posted: January 16, 2017
Article/News by: Liza May Anilao
Date Posted: January 10, 2017
Article/News by: Aimee De Torres
Date Posted: December 15, 2016

1 Merchan Street, Lucena City, PHILIPPINES
Tel. #: (042)710-2505, 7103888, Fax #: (042)373-424
E-mail Address:
© All Rights Reserved